Working for Canadian Screenwriters: The Writers Guild of Canada (WGC) represents more than 2,200 professional English-language screenwriters in Canada. These are the creators who write the distinctly Canadian entertainment we enjoy on our televisions, movie screens, radios and digital platforms.

Reminder: Nominations Open for WGC Awards

A reminder to WGC members that it's time to nominate scripts for the 19th annual national WGC Screenwriting Awards. The awards take place on April 27, 2015; the awards categories are as follows. You can get the full details on the members' website at current awards 2015. So log on and nominate a script today!
• Animation (non primetime)
• Children & Youth (live action, non primetime)
• Documentary
• Movies and Miniseries
• Shorts and Web Series
• TV Comedy (includes primetime animation)
• TV Drama


Tassie Cameron, Margaret Collier Award Recipient

Tassie Cameron, Gemini Award-winning screenwriter, has been named as the recipient of this year's Margaret Collier Award, to be presented during the 2015 Canadian Screen Week (Feb. 23-March 1, 2015). The Margaret Collier Award is given to a  writer for "a body of work in Canadian film and/or television, or for significant contribution to the international profile of Canadian film and/or television."

Tassie has written a wide range of television, and is currently co-creator, showrunner and executive producer of the hit series, Rookie Blue. Its sixth season begins airing on Global and ABC in the summer of 2015. Congratulations, Tassie, on recognition that is well-deserved!

WGC at Reel Asian

WGC member Sadiya Durrani and Deanna Cadette, the WGC's policy analyst and director of the Bell Media Diverse Screenwriters program, will be taking part in a panel called "Diversity and Canadian Media" on Nov. 7, 2014 as part of the Reel Asian International Film Festival. The panel will address this question, among others: "With American TV networks embracing diverse stories and casting, where does the Canadian entertainment industry stand?" You can find out more at the Reel Asian website.

Factual TV Writers' Mixer

Vancouver-based factual television writers are invited to mix and mingle with writer colleagues at an event that is open to both WGC members and non-members.

When: Thursday, Oct. 23 at 6:30 p.m. 
Where: The Shebeen Whisky house at the Irish Heather GastroPub
210 Carrall Street, Vancouver

Please RSVP to Christine Rutherford at your earliest convenience.

Warsaw Resolutions

The WGC was at the third World Conference of Screenwriters in Warsaw earlier this month, one of thirty guilds from around the world attending. During the conference two significant resolutions were passed, one, the "Women's Resolution," calling for industry members to set a goal of having 50% of scripts across genres and at every budget level written by women. The second resolution, the "Warsaw Resolution," has to do with "the essential role of the creator and his/her singular vision in the production of quality television." The Danish model of  “one vision” was proposed by the resolution, a model that "has respect for creators at its core, as the industry standard to be adopted by broadcasters, digital subscription services, funding agencies, producers and studios." Please click on the above links, or on "read more," to view both resolutions. 

Read More
More Current News


Summer 2014
On newsstands, or subscribe.

Photo by Christina Gapic

Hot Issues
Hot Issues
Upcoming Events
Upcoming Events
   1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
OCTOBER 24, 2014
  • Meet the Directors

OCTOBER 24, 2014

Meet the Directors

11th annual "Meet the Directors" with 2014 DGC Award nominated directors: Peter Stebbings - Empire of Dirt, Jason Priestley - Cas & Dylan,  Michael Dowse - The F Word.


OCTOBER 28, 2014
  • Innoversity Creative Summit

OCTOBER 28, 2014

Innoversity Creative Summit

Innoversity Creative Summit: For more than a decade, Innoversity Creative Summit has reached out to media industry leaders, and creators from a broad diversity of backgrounds and skills.

  List of all Events